scholarpalooza! battle of the bands competition

Scholarpalooza! is an annual battle of the bands competition organised and hosted by Rock Scholars and open to all West Australian bands and artists aged 18 or under.

At Rock Scholars we just know there are lots of amazing and talented young musicians out there who don't get many opportunities to play in front of people. It's hard to get a gig when you're under 18 right? Scholarpalooza! is a band competition, but it's also a good excuse to put on some shows and give under age bands a chance to play in front of some people. Playing in Scholarpalooza! is fun.

Bands are judged on a number of criteria including musicianship, stagecraft, songwriting, originality and WOW factor. Winners of each heat are determined by a panel of independent judges selected from the Perth music scene, and there are big prizes to be won for the overall winner.

At Rock Scholars we are passionate supporters of live music and young musicians - Scholarpalooza! gives bands and artists an opportunity to show off their talent and win new fans.

Drug Aware Scholarpalooza! 2018

Scholarpalooza! 2018 was proudly sponsored by Healthway to promote the Drug Aware message.

Phoneline Valentine crowned winners

  Winners are Grinners .  From left to right Imogen Lau, Chloe Manners, Tim Schilperoort, Paris Sparks

Winners are Grinners. From left to right Imogen Lau, Chloe Manners, Tim Schilperoort, Paris Sparks

Phoneline Valentine were declared winners of Drug Aware Scholarpalooza! 2018 at a sold out Grand Final at The Garage, fighting off stiff competition from five other bands but ultimately winning over the judges with their quirky alt rock.

First Prize - a day of recording, plus a final mix and master of to a value of $1000, courtesy of Jelly Sound; a professional photo shoot; free WAM membership for a year, and free entry to WAMFest 2018; and a radio interview and airplay on RTRFM.

Congratulations to the other 2018 Grand Finalists:

Just Pacific
Crimson Regret
Grey States
Planetary - who received special kudos from the judges

Our 2018 sponsors